Governing Board & Policies

The Metro Governing Board consists of twelve members assigned for terms of three years. Membership includes three representatives from The Ohio State University, three from Battelle Memorial Institute, two from Franklin University, one from Columbus City Schools, one District Superintendent, and two Community Representatives. The Governing Board advises and assists the school with matters such as curriculum, school evaluation and research, professional development, funding and community relations.

Current Membership:

David Burns

Director of STEM Innovation Networks
Battelle Memorial Institute

Dr. Michael Johnson
Vice Chair

Bexley City Schools

Dr. Cheryl Achterberg

Dean, College of Education & Human Ecology
The Ohio State University

Scott Gooding  

Executive Director
Budget & Financial Management,
Columbus City Schools                       2019

 Tina Jay

Research Scientist,
Battelle Memorial Institute

Dr. Stephanie Johnson

Relationship Manager
Education & STEM Learning
Battelle Memorial Institute                  2016

Dr. David Manderscheid

Executive Dean and Vice Provost,
College of Arts & Sciences
The Ohio State University

Dr. Christopher Washington
Provost & Senior VP for Academic Affairs
Franklin University
Sharee Wells
Director of Secondary Curriculum
Columbus City Schools
Dr. David Williams

College of Engineering
The Ohio State University





2016-17 School Year Board Meeting Schedule

Meetings are typically every other month on the fourth Friday of the month beginning at 8am. Meeting location is the Metro High School Conference Room, unless otherwise announced. 

  • August 26, 2016
  • October 28, 2016
  • December 9, 2016 (moved to avoid holiday breaks)
  • February 24, 2017
  • April 28, 2017
  • June 23, 2017

Governing Board Policies can be viewed here.

Communications to the Board or requests to speak at a Board meeting should be submitted to at least three days before the meeting date.